Konishi Neuroethology Research Awards

The Konishi Neuroethology Research Awards are named in honor of Masakazu (Mark) Konishi, a leader in the neurobiological study of natural behavior. Konishi’s outstanding work on prey capture by owls and singing in songbirds continues to excite and inspire neuroethologists around the world.

The Konishi Neuroethology Research Awards are intended to promote research by early career investigators. Funds awarded can be used to cover any direct research expenses (including travel to a field site) but conference travel, participation in formal workshops or courses, and salaries are excluded. Applications will be reviewed on the basis of scientific merit, feasibility of the project, and consistency with the mission of the ISN.

Application Guidelines and Eligibility

All early career investigators who are members of the ISN at the time of application; for the purposes of this research award, an early career investigator is defined as a graduate student currently enrolled in a doctoral program or an investigator who has received a doctoral degree within the past 10 years; investigators more than 10 years beyond the doctoral degree are welcome to apply, but must provide a statement on their biosketch explaining why their career path was interrupted.

Neuroethology seeks to understand the neural bases of natural animal behavior; thus all research topics encompassed within the field of neuroethology will be considered.

Proposals should be sent as a single PDF file to: tleatherman@allenpress.com.

Funds are available to support a small number of awards of up to $2,500. Awards are not renewable. Early career investigators may only apply for a single award per deadline. Awardees may apply for a subsequent award for a different project, but priority will be given to new applicants over previous awardees.

Application deadline: April 30. Applications for the 2018 deadline are no longer being accepted.

Konishi Awards Guidelines

2016 Konishi Neuroethology Research Awards Winners
Gervasio Batista : Translational control of structural plasticity during the critical period for imprinting
Albert Einstein College

Gervasio Batista: Translational control of structural plasticity during the critical period for imprinting
Albert Einstein College

Kathryn Feller: The sensory-strike conversion: Neural control of the predatory strike behavior in stomatopods
University of Bristol, UK

Past Recipients


Michael Yartsev: Neural basis of vocal learning in bats: The first mammalian animal model
UC Berkely

Lisa Mangiamele: Neuromuscular mechanisms of multimodal signaling in the foot-flagging frog
Smith College


Martin How: Polarization vision in fiddler crabs: using behaviour to test neural models
University of Bristol

Lauren O’Connell: Neural basis of paternal care in a poison frog
Harvard College

Jessica Fox:
Measuring haltere movements during body rotations in flight
Case Western Reserve University

Other Awards: 

Heiligenberg Student Travel Awards

The Capranica Neuroethology Prize

The Developing Neuroethology Award

The Young Investigator Awards

Fellow of the International Society for Neuroethology